No NaNoWriMo

I won’t be doing NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), although I utterly support those who do. Write a novel in a month? I’ve tried it before and it didn’t work for me.

I’ve always said that the first 30,000 words of any novel are the easiest. I don’t write them all in one go, though. If I did, I wouldn’t be happy with them when I read them back. That’s not the way I work.

But what happens after the 30,000 mark?

 Ah! That’s when the really hard work begins.

Writing is work. I would like to be able to tell you that it is magical. Okay, then, it’s magical work, but it’s work just the same.

When you see trained dancers dancing, it looks like magic too. What you don’t see (unless you are sitting too close) is the effort behind the smile. It’s the same with writing.

You see me tapping at my laptop (– stop stalking me!) and if there is a calm smile on my face then I’m on Twitter. If you see frown lines (I’m still having an internal debate about Botox) I’m writing.

 For me writing has to happen slowly. So, even though I am very goal-oriented, I tend to ignore word counts while I write. If I noticed them, I would get that feeling of slog and that’s not how I want to live.

While everyone I know is writing up a storm, I will be plodding along, trying not to notice how many steps I’ve gone.

I like to re-write as I write and hone everything so I don’t lose heart when I read it back. For me, the game is keeping up my ‘can do’ attitude, and NaNoWriMo isn’t what works for me.

3 thoughts on “No NaNoWriMo

  1. Argh so true. I got to the 45,000 word mark on my current nobel fairly quickly, but it took a few weeks of hard work every day to push on to 65,000 and fix up all the plot holes. Now I try my best to ignore word counts and instead I focus on how to make the story the best it can be 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

