Stuck in the Middle

I am currently in the middle of writing a novel. I feel stuck.

Not stuck in the sense that I don’t know what to write. On the contrary, I have a detailed plan – one I have been constructing since August 2013 – and I know exactly what is going to happen. I am aware which the key scenes are and I even know what some of these are going to look like.

I have faith that this is going to be a good project. It’s true that some of the characters still need a little work, a little more fleshing-out, but for the most part I think it’s going to slot together into something solid.

I’ve been monitoring the writing on a word level and it’s got some poetic parts. There are whole sections which I would be putting stars next to, if I were Stella Gibbons.

My problem is that I’ve been working on this since May 2015 and I’ve probably, at my current rate of writing, got until the end of this year still to go. And that’s just on this draft. I’m in the middle. It’s not a fresh project anymore. It’s not nearly finished. I just have to keep plodding along.

No clowns, no jokers – it’s time to get serious.

I need to remind myself: writing is work. I need to knuckle down and get it written. I need to do my best at every writing session. I need to do it until it’s done.

10 thoughts on “Stuck in the Middle

      1. It is where I usually end up saying, “I don’t think I like this story” and other self-defeating things. Then, I get stubborn and tell myself to “power through.” That’s pretty empty advice, but it’s all I’ve got.

        So . . . POWER THROUGH!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I only write poetry, so have never faced this problem. Interesting responses from Jenna and Tina suggest being stuck in the middle is a feature of novel writing. Would you feel less stuck if you hadn’t already decided where your plot was going and what your principal scenes were going to be?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know this feeling well! Two thirds through the marathon, legs burning, lungs wheezing and you realise there’s a whole third left to go! You keep running through the wall though and you’ll get your second wind. Then you get to cross the finish line with an awesome finished novel as a reward. And toned calves! Plus!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

