Happy New Year!

My brain is still geared to academic years. Today, then, is the start of something for me. It is time to line up all my stationery and turn to a blank page.

As the world around me begins to die, I hatch new plans and look forward to the beginning of the rest of the year. There is something about the cooler weather – if it ever comes – that is conducive to thought.

This is my current to do list: I would like to finish the first and second drafts of my WIP (still untitled). I’m being specific there, because I can see what I need to do; I just need to sit down and do it.

And I’m in desperate need of new short stories (see Forthcoming Stories to find out why). I have a few ideas but I’d like to play around with form a little too. My new stories need to swirl around me like leaves, being completed as they hit the ground. I can feel them already taking shape in my mind.

How do you feel about the start of autumn?

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. There is something of the feel of new beginnings in September, isn’t there? Maybe because we spent so many years starting a new school year at this time, when the slate is clean, is new work begins. I’ll be posting my plans for fall tomorrow. Good luck on your new creative endeavors!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

